Georgia Tech Coronavirus (Covid-19) Information

Grad Students Take Home Travel Grants During Career Conference

Article by Autumn Siebold

On Jan. 27, on-campus and online graduate students competed in the 2020 Career, Research, and Innovation Development Conference (CRIDC) poster competition.

Congratulations to the following students who won travel grants ranging from $500 to $2,000:

On-campus Student Honors

Provost's Awards ($2,000)

  • Alex Balzer, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Daniella Corporan, Biomedical Engineering
  • Beatrice Ncho, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Nikhil Raj, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Daniel Schiff, Public Policy

Executive Vice President for Research Awards ($2,000)

  • Yutong Guo, Mechanical Engineering
  • Annika Jersild, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
  • David Jovel, Aerospace Engineering
  • Ronita Mathias, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Audrey Scholz, Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Lindsey Trejo, Mechanical Engineering

College of Computing Awards ($1,500)

  • Ardavan Afshar, Computational Science and Engineering
  • Arjun Srinivasan, Computer Science
  • Brianna Tomlinson, Human-Centered Computing

College of Engineering Awards ($1,500)

  • Shawn Gregory, Materials Science Engineering
  • Mohammad Hamza Kirmani, Materials Science Engineering
  • Andrew W. Tricker, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Phoebe Welch, Bioengineering
  • Liran Zheng, Electrical and Computer Engineering

College of Science Awards ($1,500)

  • Maryrose Barrios, Physics
  • Audra M Davidson, Applied Physiology
  • Sudarshan Ghonge, Physics
  • Aaron Pital, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Executive Vice President for Research and Institute Diversity Award ($2,000)

  • Glenn Cameron, Computer Science

Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts Graduate Paper Competition Awards

  • Sharon Rachel, History and Sociology of Technology and Science ($1,500)
  • Karim Farhat and Karl Grindal, Public Policy ($1,000)
  • Olufunke Adebola, International Affairs ($750)
  • Jeremy Pesner, Public Policy ($750)

VentureLab Innovation Competition Awards

  • Mohammadreza Nazemi, Mechanical Engineering ($1,000)
  • Mohamma Hamza Kirmani, Materials Science Engineering ($500)
  • Tripp Ulmer, Nuclear and Radiological Engineering ($500)

Online Student Honors

College of Computing ($1,500)

  • Alice Li, Computer Science
  • Pranay Bhattacharyya, Computer Science

Executive Vice President for Research ($2,000)

  • James Cardinal, Analytics

For more information about CRIDC, visit

Related Media

Click on image(s) to view larger version(s)

  • 2020 CRIDC Poster Competition Winners

For More Information Contact

Robbie Ouzts
Center for Career Discovery and Development

Related Links

Accessibility Information

Per accessibility compliance standards, this page may have links to files that would require the downloading of additional software:

  • Click here to download Microsoft Products.
  • Click here to download Adobe Reader.