The Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) is part of the United States Treasury Department. OFAC manages the United States government's sanctions and embargo programs, as well as the Specially Designated Nationals (SDNs) and Blocked Persons lists. SDNs are entities or individuals owned or controlled by, or acting for or on behalf of, the governments of target countries. United States persons may be prohibited from conducting certain activities with the listed individuals and entities without prior OFAC authorization.

OFAC Sanctioned Countries

Sanctions regulations vary significantly by country. The following countries are subject to restrictions on certain types of activities, as indicated below. This list is current as of March 10, 2022.

List of Comprehensively Sanctioned Countries

Country (A - N) Country (O - Z)
Cuba Crimea - Russia
Iran Sudan
North Korea Syria
  Donetsk and Luhansk - Ukraine

Most transactions, including those involving persons or entities "ordinarily resident" in these countries, require an Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) License.

If Admitted, How Do I Comply?

If you are offered admission:

  • Before you can register each semester, you will have to certify to the program that you are not ordinarily resident in an OFAC restricted region nor planning to return there.
  • Payment can’t be made from restricted regions or other sanctioned entities.
  • You will not temporarily reside or access Georgia Tech program material from a restricted area during the semester.


Email Nazanin Tork,, or Alan Glass,, with any questions.