Grad Students Take Home Travel Grants During Career Conference

In mid February, both on-campus and online graduate students from Georgia Tech competed in the annual Career, Research, and Innovation Development Conference (CRIDC) Poster Competition. 

The following students won travel grants ranging from $500 to $2,000:

On-campus Student Honors

Provost's Awards ($2,000)

  • Bettina Arkhurst, Mechanical Engineering
  • Nivedita Arora, Computer Science
  • Marisa Cepeda, Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • James Kelvin, Biomedical Engineering
  • Scott Schoen Jr., Mechanical Engineering

Executive Vice President for Research Awards ($2,000)

  • Camila Apablaza, Public Policy 
  • Leigh Huffman, City and Regional Planning
  • Brian Khau, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Yao Ma, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Narayan Shirolkar, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Rachel Stuck, Psychology

College of Computing Awards ($1,500)

  • Farnaz Behrang, Computer Science
  • Chirag Jain, Computational Science and Engineering
  • Miranda Parker, Human-Centered Computing

College of Engineering Awards ($1,500)

  • Seleipiri Charles, Bioengineering
  • Sourabh Jha, Mechanical Engineering
  • Neha Kondekar, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Mariah Schrum, Robotics
  • Jianfeng Zhou, Environmental Engineering

College of Science Awards ($1,500)

  • Giorgio Morbioli, Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Chase Rock, Applied Physiology 
  • Hemaa Selvakumar, Physics
  • Anne Marie Sweeney Jones, Chemistry and Biochemistry

R. Fenton-May Fulbright Award ($1,000)

  • Jana Boerger, Machine Learning

Environmental Impact Award ($500)

  • Aditi Khirbat, Materials Science and Engineering

Diversity Award ($500)

  • Brianna Tomlinson, Human-Centered Computing

Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts Graduate Essay Contest Awards

  • Karl Grindal, Public Policy ($1,500)
  • Mario Bianchini (History and Sociology of Technology and Science), Daniel Schiff (Public Policy), and Declan Abernathy (History and Sociology of Technology and Science) ($1,000)
  • Anthony Harding (Economics) and Chris Blackburn (Economics) ($500)

VentureLab Innovation Competition Awards

  • Sourabh Jha, Mechanical Engineering ($1,000)
  • Norh Asmare (Electrical and Computer Engineering) and Chinmay Satam (Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering) ($500)

Online Student Honors

College of Computing ($1,500)

  • Glenn Cameron, Computer Science
  • Robert W. Schmidt, Computer Science

Executive Vice President for Research ($1,500)

  • Mohamed Elmessidi, Computer Science
  • Gordon Lemmon, Computer Science

 Provost's Office ($1,000)

  • Steven B. Bryant, Computer Science

For more information about CRIDC, visit

Related Media

Click on image(s) to view larger version(s)

  • CRIDC 2019 Poster Competition Winners

For More Information Contact

Jana Stone

Office of the Vice Provost for Graduate Education and Faculty Development

Related Links

Accessibility Information

Per accessibility compliance standards, this page may have links to files that would require the downloading of additional software: